Ten-Thirty PM

New York - Times Square - July 1977

The train brings me closer to home. I relive lunch.

I am not ready. Is it a gift? It is good news I do not want to hear.

“There’s something I want to show you.”

She hands me a package. I undo the wrapping.

“Turn it over.”

I know what it’s going to say. Reluctantly I obey. There it is. At the end of some other words. In a cute font: GRANDFATHER.

In my mind, it is all about me. I try to make the right noises and absentmindedly hand back the baby bodysuit.

Grey hair, age milestones. I survived those without difficulty. The start of a new generation is the one milestone that makes me feel categorically old.

The announcer tells me to make sure to take all my belongings.

2 thoughts on “Ten-Thirty PM”

Leave a Comment

