Frogstomp

Sometimes the story of a CD is about why I own it.

In the early 90’s, my theory of musical evolution included two beliefs:

  1. Each generation creates a new style of music that parents hate.
  2. New styles of music are invented by post-adolecent youth.

I was ready to condemn myself to musical fogeydom when Grunge showed up and saved me.

It had the perfect origin story. I grew up in the Pacific Northwest. Seattle was Vancouver’s American sister. I even owned a flannel shirt. And the music was described as a cross between Led Zeppelin and Punk.

When the critics started going on about a bunch of Australian teenagers, I bought the CD.

I have to play the album to remember the tunes.

Leave a Comment

