Just Dropped In

Latter Day Dude Ordination

“Careful, do you realize what state I’m in?” The Gonzoesque statement to the driver that cut me off makes me self-justify my condition.

I’m seeing more Ferraris; Things must be going well for the rich.

Biophilia, is the word the word I was looking for in Amsterdam. I’m not convinced of the instinctive bond between human beings and nature. I get similar feelings looking at man-made monuments or driving with the music on loud. Then again, it could be a manifestation.

“(Yeah, yeah, oh-yeah, what condition my condition was in)

I woke up this mornin’ with the sundown shinin’ in
I found my mind in a brown paper bag within
I tripped on a cloud and fell-a eight miles high
I tore my mind on a jagged sky
I just dropped in to see what condition my condition was in

(Yeah, yeah, oh-yeah, what condition my condition was in)

I pushed my soul in a deep dark hole and then I followed it in
I watched myself crawlin’ out as I was a-crawlin’ in
I got up so tight I couldn’t unwind
I saw so much I broke my mind
I just dropped in to see what condition my condition was in

(Yeah, yeah, oh-yeah, what condition my condition was in)

Someone painted “April Fool” in big black letters on a “Dead End” sign
I had my foot on the gas as I left the road and blew out my mind
Eight miles outta Memphis and I got no spare
Eight miles straight up downtown somewhere
I just dropped in to see what condition my condition was in

I said I just dropped in to see what condition my condition was in
Yeah yeah oh-yeah” — Kenny Rogers and the First Edition“Just Dropped In (To See What Condition My Condition Was In),” Harlequin Melodies (1968)

2 thoughts on “Just Dropped In”

  1. Smily face….glad you’re well my friend. Leaving (on a jet plane) no, on a ferry for Belfast tomorrow. Hoping we can hook up again in 16!

Leave a Comment

